Navigationsweiche Anfang

Navigationsweiche Ende


Contact

Dr. Moritz Schubotz

Department of Mathematics
FIZ Karlsruhe - Leibniz-Institute for Information Infrastructure
Franklinstr. 11
D-10587 Berlin

Cell: +49 1578 047 1397
Office: +49 30 3999 3460

schubotz{at}uni-wuppertal.de

Mathematical Information Retrieval (MathIR)

As part of the DFG-funded research project GI 1259/1-1 

Methods and Tools to Advance the Retrieval of Mathematical Knowledge from Digital Libraries for Search-, Recommendation- and Assistance-Systems,

we investigate fundamental methods and tools for making mathematical knowledge accessible to information retrieval tools.

Achieving this goal requires methods to reliably extract mathematical knowledge from documents. In the domain of natural language processing (NLP), a number of well-established, general purpose text processing methods and tools exist that are applied to a text to enable domain specific extraction tasks. Similar to state-of-the-art text processing tools, such as the Stanford NLP toolkit, our research will determine how similar tools for processing mathematical language can be realized.

Our approach is to expand upon the concept of Mathematical Language Processing (MLP), a concept for which we have already demonstrated its feasibility when we presented it at the ACM SIGIR conference in 2016 (link to paper). In the context of this project, we expand upon our preliminary research to make the approach more effective and applicable for real world mathematical information retrieval applications. Specifically, the project has the following objectives:

  1. Identify mathematical formulae and expressions in documents, and reliably differentiate them from similar or neighboring structures.
  2. Perform type detection and tokenization of mathematical expressions.
  3. Extract the corresponding mathematical concepts from the tokenized mathematical formulae and expressions.

Our goal is enabling other scientists to use our methods and tools for mathematical language processing to tackle their own novel problems. We hope that MLP will continue to improve during this process, as was once the case for early NLP approaches.

A wide variety of applications would benefit from advancements to mathematical information retrieval. In the STEM disciplines, improvements could be made to academic literature search, literature recommendation, and even plagiarism prevention. Additionally, expert search or applications in pure mathematics, such as theorem search or definition lookup, would significantly benefit from our developments. Applications beyond STEM fields include the improvement of tutoring assistance tools, as well as patent search and enterprise search, which could become more valuable to companies if they integrate math-aware information retrieval methods.

Related Publications

  

Media Coverage

 

As of January 9, Wikipedia allows semantically enhancing mathematical formulae with the definitions of the terms they contain. For example, the formula of the famous mass-energy equivalence E=mc²...

more

The DFG, Germany’s organisation for research funding, has awarded our group a 3-year research grant for our project: 

“Methods and Tools to Advance the Retrieval of Mathematical Knowledge from...

more

Wikipedia is using a new approach for rendering mathematical formulae - as of May 31st. This approach was developed by our group member Moritz Schubotz.

Bitmap images representing formulae, were...

more
zuletzt bearbeitet am: 23.01.2020

Navigationsweiche Anfang

Navigationsweiche Ende

Sprache wählen


Mathematical Information Retrieval (MathIR)

 

Im Rahmen des DFG-geförderten Projektes GI 1259/1-1 

Methoden und Werkzeuge zur Verbesserung des Zugriffs auf mathematisches Wissen in Digitalen Bibliotheken für Such-, Empfehlungs- und Assistenzsysteme,

untersuchen wir grundlegende Methoden und Werkzeuge, um mathematisches Wissen für Informationssysteme zugänglich zu machen.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, sind Methoden erforderlich, die mathematisches Wissen zuverlässig aus Dokumenten extrahieren. Im Forschungsgebiet Natural Language Processing (NLP) gibt es eine Reihe etablierter Methoden und Werkzeuge um domänenspezifische Informationsextraktion aus Texten durchzuführen. Ähnlich wie bei aktuellen Textverarbeitungswerkzeugen, z.B. Stanford NLP-Toolkit, wird unsere Forschung untersuchen, wie solche Werkzeuge für die Verarbeitung mathematischer Sprache realisiert werden können.

Unser Ansatz ist es, das Konzept des Mathematical Language Processing (MLP) zu erweitern, welches wir in einem Beitrag zur ACM SIGIR-Konferenz 2016 erstmals präsentiert haben (Link zum Beitrag). Im Rahmen des aktuellen Projektes erweitern wir unsere bisherigen Forschungsergebnisse, um den Ansatz effektiver und für reale Anwendungen praktikabel zu machen. Insbesondere verfolgt unser Projekt die folgenden Ziele:

  1. Identifizierung mathematischer Formeln und Ausdrücke in Dokumenten und zuverlässige Unterscheidung von ähnlichen oder benachbarten Strukturen.
  2. Durchführung einer Typerkennung und Tokenisierung von mathematischen Ausdrücken.
  3. Extraktion entsprechender mathematischer Konzepte aus den tokenisierten mathematischen Formeln und Ausdrücken.

Wir möchten anderen Wissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit geben, unsere Methoden und Werkzeuge für die Verarbeitung mathematischer Sprachen zu nutzen und eigene Probleme anzugehen. Wir hoffen, dass sich MLP während dieses Prozesses weiter verbessern wird, ähnlich wie es bei frühen NLP-Ansätzen der Fall war.

Eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen würde von Fortschritten beim Zugriff auf mathematische Informationen profitieren. In den MINT-Disziplinen könnten Verbesserungen für die Suche nach und Empfehlung von wissenschaftlicher Literatur sowie in Bezug auf die Prävention von Plagiaten erzielt werden. Darüber hinaus würde die Suche nach Experten oder Anwendungen in der reinen Mathematik, wie die Suche nach Theoremen oder Definitionen, erheblich von unseren Entwicklungen profitieren. Zu den potenziellen Anwendungen unserer Methoden außerhalb des MINT-Bereiches gehören die Verbesserung von Lehr- und Lernsystemen sowie der Patent- und Unternehmenssuche.

Zugehörige Veröffentlichungen

  

MEDIENBERICHTERSTATTUNG

 

Seit dem 9. Januar erlaubt Wikipedia die Anreicherung mathematischer Formeln mit semantischen Informationen sowie die Anzeige dieser Informationen im Live-System. Zum Beispiel werden für die...

mehr

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) hat unserem Lehrstuhl eine dreijährige Forschungsförderung für das Projekt Methoden und Werkzeuge zur Verbesserung des Zugriffs auf mathematisches Wissen in...

mehr

Wikipedia verwendet einen neuen Ansatz zur Darstellung mathematischer Formeln, der von unserem Teammitglied Moritz Schubotz entwickelt wurde.

Die Darstellung von Formeln als Bitmap-Bilder wurde...

mehr
zuletzt bearbeitet am: 08.12.2020